Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Changes to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 5 N. 4, May 2002

On May 8¸ the Minister of Health and Social Services¸ François Legault¸ tabled Bill 98¸ an Act amending the Quebec Act respecting Prescription Drug Insurance. The Bill was accompanied by a ministerial report setting out the data and considerations that led to the Bill.

The main impacts of this Bill on people insured by the public plan through the Régie de l´assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) were published in the newspapers several days before the Bill was tabled in the National Assembly:

  • Maximum annual premium increased from $385 to $422 per adult.
  • Maximum monthly deductible increased from $8.33 to $9.13 ($100 to $109.60 per year) per adult.
  • Maximum coinsurance (portion of the costs paid by the insured) increased from 25% to 27.4% (children insured by the RAMQ are exempt from coinsurance).
  • Annual maximum contribution increased from $750 to $822. The maximum contribution is the maximum amount payable by an adult¸ including deductible and coinsurance¸ for him/herself and any dependent children.

These increases represent a 9.6% hike in the current plan parameters. According to the Minister¸ it is based on an anticipated increase of 14.6% in plan costs in 2002-2003¸ to which the estimated savings that will be generated by various measures have been subtracted:

  • Ensure the collection of premiums from people covered by the RAMQ (estimated savings of $35 million). Bill 98 introduces a change in the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Act that allows the RAMQ to pass on information to Revenue Quebec so that the latter can verify the premium payable.
  • Improve the drug usage including the implementation of a partnership with the pharmaceutical industry (estimated savings of $90 million). However¸ although the pharmaceutical industry has confirmed that it will support the implementation of programs to manage treatment and optimize drug use¸ no agreement has yet been reached with the government in regard to the direct financial contribution from the industry which the government is demanding ($13.4 million).

Since private plans must offer conditions as generous as the public plan with respect to the coinsurance and the annual maximum contribution¸ the increase of the coinsurance from 25% to 27.4% and the raise of the annual maximum contribution from $750 to $822 could be apply by private plan.

For private plans that cover people who are also covered by the RAMQ (people aged 65 or over)¸ the impact of Bill 98 could be important. For example¸ if a private plan covers the difference between the coinsurance in the private plan and the public plan¸ the cost increase for the private plan will be significant. If a private plan has a coinsurance of 20% for example¸ the portion of drug costs paid by this plan¸ which is presently 5% (25% less 20%)¸ will rise to 7.4% (27.4% less 20%)¸ which represents a cost increase of nearly 50%.

In addition to the changes in the public plan parameters¸ Bill 98 contains other interesting elements. These include annual indexation of the public plan parameters (which could include the premium¸ deductible¸ coinsurance and annual maximum contribution) which will also have an impact on private plans. Starting July 1¸ 2003¸ the Bill provides for the public plan parameters to be indexed based on cost increases in this plan. The rules for calculating the indexation factors will be determined by regulation.

If the government follows the same logic used to calculate the 9.6% increase applicable on July 1¸ 2002¸ the increase on July 1¸ 2003 would be 15.7%(1). Coinsurance would rise to 31.7% in 2003¸ 36.7% in 2004 and 42.5% in 2005. Remember that the Montmarquette report¸ which proposed increasing coinsurance to 40% in exchange for abolishing the deductible¸ was criticized because its proposals were excessive. However¸ we cannot imagine that the government will follow this formula ad infinitum since¸ at an annual rate of 15.7%¸ coinsurance would reach 100% in less than 10 years.

The Bill also includes changes in how the list of insured drugs is established. This list¸ which constitutes the minimum that must be covered by private plans¸ will henceforth be established by the new Conseil du médicament. A committee will be set up to hear from stakeholders¸ including insurers. In addition¸ Bill 98 specifies that the terms of the "exceptional patients" program will also apply to private plans but the program´s management standards for private plans have not yet been defined.

A parliamentary committee will hold public consultations on the Bill. However¸ the new parameters are expected to come into effect on July 1¸ 2002.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les modifications à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 5 N. 4, mai 2002

Le ministre de la Santé et des Services Sociaux¸ M. François Legault¸ a déposé le 8 mai dernier le projet de loi no 98¸ la Loi modifiant la Loi sur l´assurance médicaments du Québec. Ce projet de loi était accompagné d´un rapport du ministre exposant les données et réflexions ayant mené à son élaboration.

Les principales conséquences de ce projet de loi sur la population assurée par le régime public via la Régie de l´assurance maladie du Québec (la « Régie ») avaient fait en partie l´objet d´une publication dans les journaux quelques jours avant son dépôt à l´assemblée nationale :

  • Prime annuelle maximale haussée de 385 $ à 422 $ par adulte.
  • Franchise mensuelle maximale haussée de 8¸33 $ à 9¸13 $ (100 $ à 109¸60 $ par année) par adulte.
  • Coassurance (portion des frais payée par l´assuré) maximale haussée de 25 % à 27¸4 % (les enfants assurés par la Régie sont exemptés de la coassurance).
  • Plafond annuel haussé de 750 $ à 822 $. Rappelons que le plafond correspond au montant maximal payable par adulte pour lui-même et ses enfants à charge à titre de franchise et de coassurance.

Ces hausses correspondent à un ajustement des paramètres actuels du régime de 9¸6 %. Cette augmentation représente¸ selon le ministre¸ l´évolution des coûts du régime prévue en 2002-2003 (estimée à 14¸6 %)¸ à laquelle on a retranché l´estimation des économies qui seront générées par l´application de diverses mesures :

  • Assurer la perception des primes des personnes couvertes par la Régie (économie estimée de 35 M$). À cet effet¸ le projet de loi 98 introduit une modification à la Loi sur l´assurance maladie afin de permettre à la Régie de transmettre des renseignements au ministre du Revenu et ainsi lui permettre de vérifier le niveau de la prime payable.
  • Favoriser une meilleure utilisation des médicaments¸ incluant un partenariat avec l´industrie pharmaceutique (économie estimée de 90 M$). À ce sujet¸ quoique l´industrie pharmaceutique ait confirmé qu´elle appuiera la mise en place de programmes visant la gestion thérapeutique et visant à renforcer l´utilisation optimale des médicaments¸ aucune entente n´est encore intervenue avec le gouvernement relativement à l´aide financière directe requise de l´industrie (13¸4 M$).

Comme la Loi sur l´assurance médicaments prévoit que les régimes privés doivent offrir des conditions aussi avantageuses que le régime public en ce qui a trait à la coassurance et au plafond annuel¸ les hausses de la coassurance de 25 % à 27¸4 % et du plafond annuel de 750 $ à 822 $ pourront aussi être appliquées par les régimes privés.

Pour les régimes privés qui couvrent des adhérents également couverts par la Régie (les personnes âgées de 65 ans ou plus)¸ les répercussions du projet de loi 98 pourraient être importantes. Ainsi¸ si le régime privé couvre la différence entre la coassurance prévue par ce régime et le régime public¸ la hausse de coûts pour le régime privé sera significative. Par exemple¸ pour un régime privé prévoyant une coassurance de 20 %¸ la part assumée par ce régime¸ présentement égale à 5 % (25 % moins 20 %) des coûts des médicaments passera à 7¸4 % (27¸4 % moins 20 %)¸ soit une hausse de coûts de près de 50 %.

Outre les ajustements aux paramètres du régime public¸ d´autres éléments intéressants font l´objet du projet de loi 98. Parmi ceux-ci¸ on retrouve l´indexation annuelle des paramètres du régime (qui pourraient inclure la prime¸ la franchise¸ la coassurance et le plafond) qui aura aussi un impact sur les régimes privés. Le projet de loi prévoit ainsi qu´à compter du 1er juillet 2003¸ les paramètres du régime public seront indexés en fonction de l´augmentation des coûts de ce régime. Les règles pour calculer ce facteur d´indexation seront déterminées par règlement.

Si le gouvernement suit la logique établie pour calculer l´augmentation de 9¸6 % applicable au 1er juillet 2002¸ la hausse des paramètres au 1er juillet 2003 serait de 15¸7 % (1). La coassurance passerait ainsi à 31¸7 % en 2003¸ à 36¸7 % en 2004 et à 42¸5 % en 2005. Rappelons que le rapport Montmarquette¸ qui proposait d´augmenter la coassurance à 40 % en échange d´une abolition de la franchise¸ avait été critiqué à cause de ses propositions trop draconiennes. On ne pourrait penser toutefois que le gouvernement suivra cette formule à l´infini puisque¸ au taux annuel de 15¸7 %¸ la coassurance atteindrait 100 % dans moins de 10 ans.

Parmi les autres modifications faisant partie du projet de loi¸ on retrouve des ajustements relatifs à la façon d´établir la liste de médicaments couverts. Cette liste¸ qui constitue le minimum devant être couvert par les régimes privés¸ sera dorénavant établie par le nouveau Conseil du médicament. Une table de concertation sera de plus constituée pour recueillir l´opinion du milieu¸ dont celle des assureurs. Le projet de loi 98 prévoit aussi que les modalités du programme Patients d´exception devront aussi être applicables aux régimes privés. Les normes de gestion de ce programme pour les régimes privés restent à définir.

Le projet de loi sera soumis à une consultation publique en commission parlementaire. Il prévoit déjà toutefois que les nouveaux paramètres seront en vigueur dès le 1er juillet 2002.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6