Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Minimum requirements with respect to annual leave with pay, statutory general holidays and leave for family events

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 5 N. 3, April 2002

Each province has an equivalent to the Act respecting Labour Standards (Quebec) which sets minimum provincial requirements with respect to labour conditions. In this issue¸ we look at minimum requirements under each of these laws regarding annual leave with pay¸ statutory general holidays and leave for family events.

Employees may be subject to provincial or federal labour standards depending on the type of work they do. Provincial and territorial labour legislation applies to 90% of the Canadian labour force. The Canada Labour Code applies to approximately 10% of the Canadian workforce. It applies only to employment under federal jurisdiction (e.g.¸ interprovincial or international transportation¸ banking¸ radio or television broadcasting).

The following table shows the minimum legal requirements applicable under the law in terms of the number of weeks of annual leave with pay. These minimums vary depending on the employee´s credited service. 


As for conditions associated with eligibility¸ the Act respecting Labour Standards (Quebec) stipulates that the employer must allow the employee to take vacation days earned in any one reference year in the 12 months following the end of said reference year. 

The following table summarizes the minimum legal requirements applicable to statutory general holidays: 

Provincial and federal legislation also include minimum requirements with respect to leaves for family events¸ namely¸ death¸ marriage¸ birth and adoption. The following table lists minimum leave required by law in case of death

Only the Quebec labour standards specify minimum employee leave requirements in case of marriage¸ birth or adoption. For the other provinces and territories¸ the labour standards do not mention such leave.

The following table shows the minimum leave that must be granted to employees by law in case of marriage¸ birth or adoption:

The minimum requirements outlined in this issue are those applicable as of March 2002. Several provinces have¸ in fact¸ undertaken to revise their labour standards. In British Colombia¸ the government reviewed employment standards by holding public consultation at the end of year 2001. Legislative changes are targeted for spring 2002. In Ontario¸ the new Employment Standards Act¸ 2000 came into effect on September 4¸ 2001¸ introducing the first amendments to Ontario´s labour standards in over two decades. In June 2000¸ Newfoundland published 45 recommendations regarding amendments to be made to its provincial standards. No changes have been done yet.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les minimums légaux en termes de congés fériés, congés spéciaux et vacances annuelles

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 5 N. 3, avril 2002

Dans chaque province, il existe un équivalent de la Loi sur les normes du travail (Québec) qui établit les exigences minimales de la province en ce qui a trait aux conditions de travail.  Dans le présent numéro, nous aborderons les exigences minimales établies par chacune de ces lois en termes de vacances annuelles, de congés fériés et de congés pour événements spéciaux.

Les salariés peuvent être assujettis aux normes du travail provinciales ou fédérales en fonction de leur type d’emploi.  Le Code canadien du travail vise environ 10 % de la main-d’œuvre canadienne et s’applique précisément aux entreprises relevant de la compétence fédérale (exemples : le transport interprovincial ou international, les banques, les stations de radiodiffusion ou de télédiffusion).

Le tableau suivant présente les minimums légaux applicables concernant le nombre de semaines de vacances annuelles.  Ces minimums varient en fonction des années de service de chaque employé.

Au niveau des modalités reliées à l’admissibilité aux journées de vacances, la Loi sur les normes du travail (Québec) stipule que l’employeur a l’obligation de permettre à l’employé de prendre les journées de vacances gagnées dans une année de référence à l’intérieur des 12 mois suivant la fin de l’année de référence.

Pour ce qui est des congés fériés, le tableau suivant présente les minimums légaux applicables :

Les législations provinciales et fédérales contiennent également des exigences minimales en ce qui a trait à certains congés spéciaux comme, par exemple, le décès, le mariage, la naissance et l’adoption. Le tableau suivant résume les minimums légaux concernant les congés à accorder à l’employé en cas de décès :

Seules les normes du travail du Québec présentent des exigences minimales pour les journées de congé à accorder aux employés suite à un mariage, à une naissance ou à l’adoption. Les normes du travail des autres provinces et territoires restent muettes sur ce sujet.

Le tableau suivant présente les minimums légaux concernant les congés à accorder à l’employé en cas de mariage ou de naissance :

Les exigences minimales présentées dans ce communiqué sont celles s’appliquant en mars 2002. En effet, plusieurs provinces ont entrepris un processus de révision de leurs normes du travail. En Colombie-Britannique, le gouvernement a entrepris des démarches de révision des normes d’emploi par une consultation publique effectuée à la fin de l’année 2001; des changements législatifs devraient être effectués à l’été 2002. En Ontario, le nouveau Employment Standards Act, 2000 est entré en vigueur le 4 septembre 2001, apportant ainsi les premières modifications aux normes d’emploi ontariennes depuis plus de deux décennies. Aussi, Terre-Neuve a publié, en juin 2000, 45 recommandations concernant des modifications à apporter à ses normes provinciales. Aucun changement à ces normes n’a toutefois été amorcé.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6