Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 140, an Act respecting parental insurance

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N. 9, July 2001

On May 25¸ 2001 the National Assembly adopted Bill 140¸ an Act respecting parental insurance. The Bill¸ which was given assent on May 30¸ 2001¸ outlines the structure of a future parental insurance plan within the province of Quebec.

Coverage for parental insurance benefits are currently provided by the Federal Government under the Employment Insurance Act. As a result¸ for such a provincial plan to be implemented the Federal Government must first recognise the existence of the Bill¸ upon which the retraction of parental insurance benefits from the Employment Insurance plan as well as a reduction of the required contribution rate to Employment Insurance would be in order.

Objective

The objective of the proposed plan is to grant maternity¸ paternity¸ parental and adoption benefits for eligible workers in Quebec which would be more generous than what is currently provided by the federal plan.

In addition¸ to improve the existing benefits¸ the provincial plan would also provide paternity leave up to a maximum of 5 weeks. The Bill¸ in this case¸ is not explicit with respect to the application of these paternity benefits¸ to whether or not they are payable in excess of the maternity and parental benefits.

Eligibility

Eligible workers must be residents of Quebec¸ contribute to the plan¸ have had an interruption of earnings as defined by the plan and annual insurable earnings derived from a business during the qualifying period greater than $2¸000 (rather than 600 worked hours as required by the current plan). Coverage is also provided to self-employed workers who are currently not eligible under the federal plan.

Benefits

The amount of weekly benefits are equal to a percentage of insurable earnings. Moreover¸ insurable earnings are subject to the maximum in effect at the "Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail" (CSST)¸ that of $51¸500 for 2001¸ a significant increase relative to the maximum of $39¸000 for 2001 set by the federal plan.

New parents would have the choice between two benefit-packages:

  • Option A: 70% of average weekly earnings for the first 25 weeks and 55% for the following 25 weeks.
  • Option B: 75% of average weekly earnings for 40 weeks (15 weeks of maternity leave and 25 weeks of parental leave).

These options would replace the current benefits of 55% of average weekly earnings for 50 weeks currently provided by the federal plan.

Premiums

Implementation of such a plan requires the collection by the provincial government of the parental benefits portion of Employment Insurance premiums that Quebec workers currently pay to the federal plan. Therefore¸ the proposed provincial plan will not come into force until such time the Federal Government expresses their intention to negotiate an agreement regarding the reduction of the current rates paid by Quebec workers to Employment Insurance. Moreover¸ it is possible that the required rates for the provincial plan will not be equivalent to those currently required by the Federal Government for the parental insurance portion of their plan.

The Bill provides that employees¸ by deduction at source¸ employers and self-employed workers are to contribute to the proposed plan according to the rates prescribed by the Government of Quebec.

Administration

The Conseil de gestion de l´assurance parentale¸ a body established by the Bill¸ shall entrust the administration of the parental insurance plan to the Régie des rentes du Québec.

Normandin Beaudry will remain up to date concerning the provincial government initiative for a new parental insurance plan and will keep you informed of any major developments in this regard.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Loi 140, la Loi sur l'assurance parentale

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 4 N. 9, juillet 2001

L´Assemblée Nationale a adopté¸ le 25 mai dernier¸ la Loi 140 (Loi sur l´assurance parentale). Ce projet de loi¸ sanctionné le 30 mai 2001¸ constitue les grandes lignes d´un futur régime d´assurance parentale pour la province de Québec.

Actuellement¸ les prestations d´assurance parentale sont couvertes au niveau fédéral en vertu de la Loi sur l´assurance-emploi. Par conséquent¸ pour qu´un tel régime provincial soit mis en application¸ le gouvernement fédéral devra d´abord reconnaître l´existence de cette Loi ce qui se traduirait par le retrait des prestations parentales du régime d´assurance-emploi ainsi qu´une réduction du taux de cotisation au régime fédéral pour les résidants du Québec.

Objet

L´objet du nouveau régime est d´accorder à tout travailleur admissible des prestations de congés de maternité¸ de paternité¸ parental et d´adoption plus généreuses que celles présentement offertes par le régime fédéral.

En plus d´améliorer les prestations de congés de maternité¸ parental et d´adoption¸ le régime québécois prévoit offrir des prestations de congés de paternité (maximum de 5 semaines). La Loi n´est toutefois pas explicite quant à l´application de ces prestations¸ à savoir si elles sont payables en supplément des prestations accordées pour un congé de maternité ou un congé parental.

Admissibilité

Contrairement aux paramètres du régime fédéral qui exigent 600 heures de travail afin d´être admissible¸ le régime du Québec prévoit qu´un travailleur admissible est une personne qui cotise au présent régime¸ réside au Québec¸ reçoit un revenu assurable égal ou supérieur à 2 000 $ par année et subit un arrêt de rémunération en raison d´un congé de maternité¸ de paternité¸ parental ou d´adoption. Les travailleurs autonomes sont couverts par le régime du Québec¸ ce qui n´est pas le cas au niveau du régime fédéral.

Prestations

Le montant des prestations hebdomadaires est égal à un pourcentage variable des revenus assurables. Le maximum des revenus assurables correspond au maximum annuel assurable en usage à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) pour l´année en cause¸ soit 51 500 $ pour 2001¸ ce qui représente une augmentation substantielle du maximum appliqué en vertu du régime fédéral¸ soit 39 000 $ pour 2001.

Les nouveaux parents auront le choix entre deux options :

  • Option A : un congé de 50 semaines à un taux de remplacement de 70 % pour les 25 premières semaines et de 55 % pour les 25 semaines restantes.

 

  • Option B : un congé de 40 semaines (15 semaines pour maternité et 25 semaines pour congé parental) à un taux de remplacement de 75 %.

Ces options remplaceraient les 50 semaines de prestations prévues au régime fédéral et payables à un taux de remplacement de 55 % du salaire admissible.

Primes

Pour qu´un tel plan soit mis en application¸ le gouvernement provincial doit récupérer la portion d´assurance parentale des cotisations d´assurance-emploi que les travailleurs québécois versent à l´actuel programme fédéral. Par conséquent¸ le nouveau régime n´entrera en vigueur qu´après que le gouvernement fédéral ait signifié son intention de négocier une entente concernant la réduction du taux de cotisation des travailleurs québécois au régime fédéral d´assurance-emploi. Cependant¸ il n´est pas certain que la prime exigée par le gouvernement québécois sera équivalente à la prime actuellement exigée par le gouvernement fédéral pour la portion d´assurance parentale.

La Loi mentionne que les employés (par déduction à la source)¸ les employeurs et les travailleurs autonomes devront payer une cotisation selon les taux déterminés par le gouvernement du Québec.

Administration

Le Conseil de gestion de l´assurance parentale¸ un organisme institué par la Loi 140¸ confiera l´administration du régime d´assurance parentale à la Régie des rentes du Québec (RRQ).

Normandin Beaudry demeurera informé relativement à cette initiative du gouvernement provincial pour un nouveau régime d´assurance parentale et vous avisera promptement de tout développement majeur à cet égard.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6