Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The changes to the Employment Insurance Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N. 7, June 2001

Last February 2nd¸ the Minister of Human Resources Development Canada¸ Jane Stewart¸ tabled Bill C-2 in the House of Commons modifying the Employment Insurance Act. The bill¸ which was given assent on May 10¸ 2001¸ is a reincarnation of Bill C-44¸ tabled in the previous legislature.

The main changes to the Employment Insurance Act are as follows:

Change to the calculation of maximum insurable earnings

Maximum yearly insurable earnings are set at the highest of the following two amounts: $39¸000 or the average industrial wage.

The average industrial wage having been at $31¸700 for 2000 would indicate that the maximum yearly insurable earnings will be set at $39¸000 for many years.

Elimination of the intensity rule retroactive to October 1¸ 2000

The intensity rule aimed at discouraging repeated recourse to employment insurance benefits was set up so that the percentage of the salary applied to the calculation of the benefit diminished according to the frequency of use. Thus¸ an habitual claimant could receive between 50 and 54% of his or her maximum insurable earnings rather than 55%. The rule having proven itself more of a punishment than a deterrent¸ the government decided to abolish it.

Henceforth¸ all claimants will receive 55% of their maximum insurable earnings.

Change to the refund (recovery) clause retroactive to tax year 2000

In the case of high paid salary workers a refund of the employment insurance benefits was required at income tax time and that¸ without distinction between the various types of benefits received.

Since the passing of Bill C-2¸ the recipients of maternity benefits¸ parental or sickness related benefits or those applying for benefits for the first time no longer have to provide the reimbursement and that retroactively to tax year 2000. For all other cases¸ workers having received a net revenue of over $48¸750 will be compelled to reimburse the claims. The maximum amount of the refund is 30% of net income in excess of $48¸750.

Changes to the provisions which apply to parents re-entering the labour market retroactive to October 1¸ 2000

Newcomers in the labour market and those who have reintegrated the labour market had to accumulate more hours of work than other workers in order to be considered eligible for employment insurance benefits. That rule penalized those parents who had been absent for a lengthy period to raise their young children.

With a retroactive effect on all claim periods beginning on or after October 1¸ 2000¸ those persons who received maternity or parental benefits and who return to the labour market¸ would be eligible for regular benefits after having worked the same number of hours as other workers.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les modifications à la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol.4 N. 7, juin 2001

Le 2 février dernier¸ la ministre du Développement des ressources humaines Canada¸ Jane Stewart¸ a déposé en Chambre des communes le projet de loi C-2 visant à modifier la Loi sur l´assurance-emploi. Ce projet de loi qui a été sanctionné le 10 mai 2001 est la réincarnation du projet de loi C-44 déposé à la législature précédente.

Les principales modifications apportées à la Loi sur l´assurance-emploi sont les suivantes :

Modification du calcul du maximum de rémunération assurable

Le maximum de rémunération annuelle assurable est fixé au plus élevé des deux montants suivants : 39 000 $ ou le salaire industriel moyen.

Le salaire industriel moyen ayant été de 31 700 $ pour 2000¸ il semble évident que le maximum annuel assurable sera fixé à 39 000 $ pour plusieurs années.

Élimination de la règle de l´intensité rétroactivement au 1er octobre 2000

La règle de l´intensité visant à dissuader le recours répété aux prestations d´assurance-emploi faisait en sorte que le pourcentage du salaire appliqué au calcul de la prestation diminuait selon la fréquence d´utilisation. Ainsi¸ un prestataire récidiviste pouvait recevoir de 50 % à 54 % de sa rémunération assurable maximum¸ plutôt que 55 %. Cette règle s´étant avérée plus punitive que dissuasive¸ le gouvernement a donc décidé de l´abolir.

Tous les prestataires recevront dorénavant 55 % de leur rémunération assurable maximum.

Modification de la clause de remboursement (récupération) rétroactivement à l´année d´imposition 2000

Dans le cas des hauts salariés¸ un remboursement des prestations d´assurance-emploi était exigé au moment de la déclaration d´impôt et ce¸ sans distinction quant au type de prestations reçues.

Grâce à l´adoption du projet de Loi C-2¸ les bénéficiaires de prestations de maternité¸ parentales ou de maladie ou ceux qui font une première demande de prestations n´ont plus à effectuer ce remboursement et ce rétroactivement à l´année d´imposition 2000. Pour tous les autres cas¸ les travailleurs ayant un revenu net de plus de 48 750 $ seront tenus de rembourser des prestations. Le montant maximal du remboursement est de 30 % du revenu net excédentaire à 48 750 $.

Modification des dispositions s´appliquant aux parents qui réintègrent le marché du travail rétroactivement
au 1er octobre 2000

Les nouveaux venus sur le marché du travail et les personnes qui réintègrent la population active devaient accumuler plus d´heures de travail que les autres travailleurs afin d´être considérés admissibles aux prestations d´assurance-emploi. Cette règle pénalisait les parents qui s´étaient absentés pour une période prolongée afin d´élever leurs jeunes enfants.

Avec un effet rétroactif sur toutes les périodes de prestations commençant le ou après le 1er octobre 2000¸ les personnes ayant reçu des prestations de maternité ou parentales et qui retournent sur le marché du travail¸ seraient admissibles à des prestations régulières après avoir travaillé le même nombre d´heures que les autres travailleurs.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6