Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Life insurance coverage that decrease with age

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N. 5, April 2001

WATCH OUT FOR LIFE INSURANCE COVERAGE THAT DECREASES WITH AGE!

An old complaint has resurfaced once again. In fact¸ there´s nothing new in the charge of discrimination in life insurance coverage offered under group insurance plans.

Ruth Margolis¸ a resident of British Columbia and spouse of a Canadian government employee who died in 1997 at the age of 69 two days before his retirement¸ had a surprise when she discovered she was only going to receive $37 200 in life insurance benefits for her spouse at the time of his death-instead of the $186 000 she would normally have received had he died 10 years earlier.

Like many plans¸ the group insurance plan offered to federal government employees provides for decreasing life insurance amounts starting at age 60¸ with the coverage ending at age 70.

The Federal Court of Canada recently ruled against the Government of Canada¸ establishing that the reduction in insurance amounts with age under the group insurance plan offered to its employees is discriminatory and a violation of the Canadian Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. The judge based his decision mainly on the fact that historically the life insurance protection offered to government employees was designed and introduced to cover death-related expenses (medical¸ funeral and other) and that these expenses would not normally change with age.

Since the judge´s decision was based on the historical aspect of the plan¸ it is not clear whether this decision of the Federal Court applies to all other group insurance plans that provide decreasing life insurance amounts based on age.

The Department of Justice has already filed an appeal of the judgement of the Federal Court of Canada with the Federal Court of Appeal. Rest assured that we will be keeping a close eye on developments in this matter.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les montants d'asssurance vie décroissant selon l'âge

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 4 N. 5, avril 2001

ATTENTION AUX MONTANTS D´ASSURANCE VIE DÉCROISSANT SELON L´ÂGE !

Un vieux débat refait surface encore une fois. Ce n´est pas d´hier en effet que nous entendons parler de discrimination quant aux garanties d´assurance vie offertes en vertu de régimes d´assurance collective.

Madame Ruth Margolis¸ résidente de la Colombie Britannique et conjointe d´un employé du gouvernement canadien décédé en 1997 à l´âge de 69 ans¸ deux jours après avoir pris sa retraite¸ a eu une surprise. En effet¸ elle a découvert qu´elle ne recevrait qu´un montant de 37 200 $ représentant la protection d´assurance vie de son époux au moment de son décès alors qu´elle aurait normalement reçu 186 000 $ s´il était décédé 10 ans plus tôt.

Comme un bon nombre de régimes¸ le contrat d´assurance collective offert aux employés du gouvernement fédéral prévoit des montants d´assurance vie décroissant dès l´âge de 60 ans¸ la protection se terminant à l´âge de 70 ans.

La Cour Fédérale du Canada a récemment rendu un jugement contre le gouvernement du Canada établissant que la réduction des montants d´assurance vie selon l´âge prévu au régime d´assurance collective offert à ses employés est discriminatoire et considérée comme une violation de la Charte canadienne des Droits et Libertés de la Personne. Le juge appuie sa décision en majeure partie sur le fait qu´historiquement¸ la garantie d´assurance vie offerte aux employés du gouvernement a été conçue et mise en place dans le but de pourvoir aux frais engagés (médicaux¸ funéraires ou autres) reliés au décès et que ces frais ne devraient normalement pas varier selon l´âge de l´individu.

Puisque la décision du juge est fondée sur l´aspect historique du régime¸ il n´est pas évident que cette décision de la Cour Fédérale pourra s´appliquer à tous les autres régimes d´assurance collective prévoyant des diminutions de montants d´assurance vie en raison de l´âge.

Le département de la Justice a déjà déposé le jugement de la Cour Fédérale du Canada à la Cour Fédérale d´appel. Soyez assuré que nous suivrons de près les développements futurs de cette affaire.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6