Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Quebec act to establish a legal framework for information technology

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N. 15, December 2001

According to the decree of October 17th, 2001, the Quebec act to establish a legal framework for information technology took effect last November 1st.

Below are some of the main objectives of this act:

  • Ensure legal security and integrity of all official documents.
  • Recognize the equivalence and interchangeability of technological documents versus traditional documents (for example, a printed copy).
  • Harmonize technical systems and standards allowing for the use of technological documents.

Technological documents include any e-mail, Internet document or any other document of an electronic nature. A voicemail is also considered a technological document.

Pursuant to this act, the integrity of a document means that it is possible to verify that the information it contains has not been altered and is in its entirety. Thus, the act provides that a technological document of which the integrity is preserved has the same legal value as a printed document. However, documentation establishing that the transmission method has effectively preserved the integrity of the electronic document must be available for introduction as evidence, if required.

As stipulated by the act, when a signature must be affixed to a technological document, this requirement can be fulfilled by any process meeting the Civil Code provisions. However, please note that neither the act nor the Civil Code specifically defines what an electronic signature is. Therefore, a designation of beneficiary accompanied by an electronic signature could be valid.

It is important to specify that no one can ask another person to acquire a specific technological equipment to transmit or receive documents unless required by law or an agreement. Moreover, no one could be forced to receive a document other than a printed document.

It will be interesting to see what effect the enforcement of this act will have in the future on the transmission and receipt of technological documents as far as benefit and retirement plans are concerned. Specifically, this act should facilitate the exchange of technological documents by recognizing their legal value. For example, the act legitimates, within the parameters it specifies, the use of technological documents to join a group insurance plan, the designation of a beneficiary and the posting of an insurance brochure on the organization´s Internet or Intranet site. The same conclusion also applies to Internet sites recently developed by insurers giving benefit managers and insured persons access to various informations regarding their insurance plan and allowing them, in some cases, to submit their claims.

We will keep you informed of future developments concerning this act.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La Loi québécoise concernant le cadre juridique des technologies de l’information

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 4 N. 15, décembre 2001

Selon le décret du 17 octobre 2001, la Loi québécoise concernant le cadre juridique des technologies de l’information est entrée en vigueur le 1er novembre dernier.

Parmi les principaux objectifs de cette loi, notons :

  • Assurer la sécurité juridique et l’intégrité de tous les documents officiels.
  • Reconnaître l’équivalence et l’interchangeabilité des documents technologiques par rapport aux documents traditionnels (par exemple, une copie papier).
  • Harmoniser les systèmes, les normes et les standards techniques permettant l’utilisation de documents technologiques.

Par documents technologiques, on entend tout courriel, document Internet et autres documents de nature électronique. Un message laissé sur une boîte vocale est également considéré comme un document technologique.

La loi prévoit qu’un document technologique dont l’intégrité est préservée possède la même valeur juridique qu’un document papier. Selon cette loi, l’intégrité d’un document signifie qu’il est possible de vérifier que l’information contenue n’a pas été altérée et qu’elle est intégrale. Toutefois, une documentation permettant d’établir que le mode de transmission a préservé l’intégrité du document électronique doit être disponible pour production en preuve, si nécessaire.

Tel que stipulé dans la loi, lorsqu’une signature doit être apposée à un document technologique, cette exigence peut être satisfaite par tout procédé répondant aux dispositions du Code Civil. Toutefois, notons que ni la loi, ni le Code Civil ne définissent de façon précise ce qu’est une signature électronique. Par conséquent, une désignation de bénéficiaire accompagnée d’une signature électronique jugée conforme pourrait donc être valide.

Il est important de spécifier que nul ne peut exiger de quelqu’un qu’il se procure un équipement technologique spécifique pour transmettre ou recevoir des documents, à moins que la loi ou une convention ne l’exige. De plus, nul n’est tenu d’accepter de recevoir un document autre qu’un document papier.

Il sera intéressant de voir les effets qu’aura l’application de cette loi dans le futur au niveau de la transmission et de la réception des documents technologiques en ce qui concerne les régimes d’avantages sociaux. En particulier, cette loi devrait faciliter les échanges de documents technologiques en reconnaissant leur valeur légale. Par exemple, la loi vient légitimer, à l’intérieur des paramètres qu’elle définit, l’utilisation de documents technologiques pour l’adhésion au régime d’assurance collective, la désignation de bénéficiaire et l’affichage de la brochure d’assurance sur le site Internet ou Intranet de l’organisation. Il en est de même pour les sites Internet récemment développés par les assureurs et qui donnent accès aux gestionnaires de régime ou aux assurés à des informations diverses sur leur régime d’assurance et leur permettent, dans certains cas, de soumettre leurs réclamations.

Nous vous tiendrons au courant des développements futurs relativement à cette loi.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6