Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 102 (Bill amending the Supplemental Pension Plans Act)

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N. 12, October 2001

The draft Supplemental Pension Plans Regulations regarding the enforcement of Bill 102 (Bill amending the Supplemental Pension Plans Act and other legislations) was published in the Gazette officielle on Wednesday¸ September 26¸ 2001.

KEY ELEMENTS OF THE DRAFT REGULATIONS

The key elements of the draft regulations are as follows:

  • Annual Statement: In addition to the supplementary financial information already required by Bill 102 (employee and employer contributions¸ contribution holidays¸ etc.)¸ the annual statement of an active member must include the commuted value of the accrued benefits (for members who would have been entitled to a transfer as of the date of the statement) as well as a warning with respect to the potential variability of this commuted value. Furthermore¸ the statement must contain¸ where applicable¸ a description of the benefits waived by the member´s spouse. Finally¸ some information that was previously disclosed in the annual statement will be transferred to the information booklet.
  • The annual statement of a non-active member¸ other than a retiree¸ must include the additional benefit to which the member is entitled and the commuted value of the deferred pension. Finally¸ the annual statement of a beneficiary of a survivor pension¸ newly required by Bill 102¸ shall be the same as the annual statement of a non-active member¸ with the necessary adjustments.
  • Fees: A new fee schedule is proposed for all fees required by the Régie. The following table provides a comparison between the old and the revised fee schedule payable when filing the Annual Information Return:

 Old ScheduleRevised Schedule
     
     
Fixed fees None Plans not subject to a periodical actuarial valuation: $250
    Plans that must submit a periodical actuarial valuation: $500
Fees per member $10 per active member $7 per active or non-active member and beneficiary¸; with an annual increase to reflect the changes in YMPE
Minimum fees$250 n/a
Maximum fees $50¸000$100¸000

 


  • Marriage breakdown benefit: The terms and conditions applicable to the statement of benefits at the stage of mediation are specified: the application to obtain a statement must contain an attestation of the date the relationship ended and a confirmation that a mediator has been mandated; the benefit calculations are performed considering the value as of that date. 
  • When determining the value of the marriage breakdown benefit¸ a 50% weight for the value of the deferred pension with early retirement subsidies¸ if any¸ must now be taken into account (previously¸ this element often used to be a litigious issue). Moreover¸ the calculations will now be performed on a daily basis rather than on a monthly basis. 
  • Finally¸ the deadline to produce the statement is now 60 days rather than 90 days¸ and the deadline to complete the split becomes 60 days instead of 120 days (from the date the spouse gives instructions as to the transfer).  
  • Additional termination benefit: For members who¸ at the time of termination of membership¸ are entitled to an additional benefit and elect not to transfer to a locked-in retirement account¸ the conditions applicable to the additional benefit are specified. In these circumstances¸ the plan may stipulate that additional benefit will be converted into a life annuity determined on the date of termination of membership. As an alternative¸ the plan may provide that¸ with the consent of the member¸ the additional benefit be converted into an ancillary benefit determined on the date of termination of membership (indexation¸ improved death benefit¸ etc.). The additional benefit and its value must be disclosed on the termination of membership statement. 
  • Seizure for alimony: Bill 102 now provides for a refund of any amount seized for alimony. In such cases¸ calculations are performed as of the date of the seizure as the marriage breakdown benefits¸ with an adjustment to take into account the impact of income taxes (in other words¸ the amount calculated after deducting the applicable income taxes must be equal to the amount seized). 

NEXT STEPS 

There will be a period of 45 days¸ from September 26¸ 2001 to November 10¸ 2001¸ to allow anyone who wishes to examine the draft regulations and to provide comments to the Régie. Afterwards¸ the Régie will consider the comments received and will finalize the regulations¸ which will again be published in the Gazette officielle. The regulations will come into force 15 days after this second publication. 

All pension plan committees must now analyze the implications that these draft regulations will have on their own pension plans and proceed with the necessary changes to their plan text and to their current administrative procedures. The original deadline provided by Bill 102 to comply with the new provisions was December 31¸ 2001. Since the regulations were not published in a timely manner¸ the Régie extended the deadline to June 30¸ 2002 for compliance purposes with respect to defined benefit pension plans. However¸ other types of pension plans will have to comply with the new provisions by December 31¸ 2001. 

Normandin Beaudry will remain at the centre of discussions on the draft regulations and will quickly advise you of any major developments related to this matter. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Loi 102 (Loi modifiant la Loi RCR)

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 4 N. 12, octobre 2001

Le projet de règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite relatif à l’application de la Loi 102 (Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite et d’autres dispositions législatives), a été publié dans la Gazette officielle mercredi le 26 septembre dernier.

PRINCIPAUX ÉLÉMENTS DU PROJET DE RÈGLEMENT DE LA LOI 102

Les principaux éléments de ce projet de règlement sont les suivants :

  • Relevé de droits annuel : En plus de l’information financière additionnelle déjà prévue par la Loi 102 (cotisations salariales et patronales, congé de cotisation, etc.), le relevé annuel d’un participant actif devra inclure la valeur des droits accumulés (pour les participants qui auraient eu droit à un transfert à la date du relevé) et un avis de mise en garde énonçant la variabilité de cette valeur. De plus, le relevé devra indiquer, le cas échéant, les droits auxquels a renoncé le conjoint du participant. Enfin, certains renseignements qui figuraient sur le relevé annuel ont été transférés dans la brochure explicative.

Le relevé annuel d’un participant non actif autre qu’un retraité devra inclure la prestation additionnelle à laquelle le participant a droit, ainsi que la valeur de transfert de la rente différée. Enfin, le relevé annuel d’un bénéficiaire, nouvellement requis par la Loi 102, devra être identique à celui d’un participant non actif, avec les adaptations nécessaires.

  • Tarification : Une nouvelle grille de tarification est proposée pour l’ensemble des frais exigés par la Régie. Le tableau suivant compare la nouvelle tarification à l’ancienne en regard des frais accompagnant la déclaration annuelle de renseignements :

 


 

Ancienne tarification

Nouvelle tarification

Frais fixes

Aucun

Régime qui n’a pas à faire l’objet d’une évaluation actuarielle périodique : 250 $

Régime qui doit faire l’objet d’une évaluation actuarielle périodique : 500 $

Frais par participant

10 $ par participant actif

7 $ par participant actif, non actif et bénéficiaire, augmenté annuellement selon l’évolution du MGA

Frais minimums

250 $

s/o

Frais maximums

50 000 $

100 000 $ 


  • Cession de droits : Les modalités d’application relatives au relevé de droit à l’étape de la médiation sont précisées : la demande de relevé doit contenir une attestation de la date de cessation de vie commune et une confirmation du mandat du médiateur, et le calcul des droits se fait en fonction de la valeur à cette date.

Dans les calculs de cession de droits, on accorde maintenant un poids de 50 % à la valeur de la rente différée subventionnée pour retraite anticipée (cet élément était souvent sujet à litige dans le passé). De plus, les calculs seront dorénavant effectués en jours et non en mois.

Enfin, le délai pour produire le relevé passe de 90 jours à 60 jours et le délai pour effectuer le partage passe de 120 jours à 60 jours (à compter de la date où le conjoint communique ses instructions quant au transfert).

  • Prestation additionnelle : Pour les participants qui, au moment de leur cessation de participation, ont droit à une prestation additionnelle et n’optent pas pour le transfert dans un compte de retraite immobilisé, les modalités d’application de la prestation additionnelle sont précisées. Ainsi, le régime peut prévoir que la prestation additionnelle sera établie sous la forme d’une rente viagère constituée à la date de la cessation de participation. Alternativement, le régime peut prévoir que, sous réserve du consentement du participant, la prestation additionnelle sera établie sous la forme d’un avantage accessoire constitué à la date de la cessation de participation (indexation de la rente, prestation de décès améliorée, etc.). La prestation additionnelle, ainsi que sa valeur, doivent figurer sur le relevé de cessation de participation.
  • Saisie pour dette alimentaire : La Loi 102 prévoit maintenant un versement au comptant dans le cas d’une saisie pour dette alimentaire. Dans ces situations, les calculs sont effectués à la date de la saisie de façon similaire à une cession de droits et un ajustement est effectué pour tenir compte de l’effet d’imposition (i.e. le montant déterminé, après déduction des retenues d’impôt applicables, doit correspondre au montant de la saisie).
     

PROCHAINES ÉTAPES

Une période de 45 jours est prévue du 26 septembre 2001 au 10 novembre 2001 afin de permettre à toute personne qui le désire d’analyser le projet de règlement de la Loi 102 et de formuler des commentaires à ce sujet à la Régie. Par la suite, la Régie étudiera les commentaires reçus et finalisera le règlement qui sera à nouveau publié dans la Gazette officielle. Le règlement entrera en vigueur 15 jours après cette deuxième publication.

Les comités de retraite devront maintenant analyser les effets de ce projet de règlement de la Loi 102 sur leur régime de retraite et modifier le règlement de leur régime et les pratiques administratives courantes en conséquence. La Loi 102 prévoyait un délai d’un an pour se conformer aux nouvelles dispositions, soit jusqu’au 31 décembre 2001. Compte tenu de la sortie tardive du projet de règlement de la Loi 102, la Régie prolonge le délai de conformité pour les régimes de type « prestations déterminées » jusqu’au 30 juin 2002. Les autres régimes de retraite devront respecter le délai original du 31 décembre 2001.

Normandin Beaudry demeurera au centre des discussions touchant ce projet de règlement et vous avisera promptement de tout développement majeur à cet égard.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6