Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The eligibility and enrolment to the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N. 10, August 2001

The Régie de l´assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) has modified the criteria concerning the eligibility and enrolment to its medical and hospital plan. As of May 31¸ 2001¸ a waiting period of up to three months following enrolment to the plan is necessary for out of province citizens and foreign nationals establishing themselves in Quebec before being covered by the plan. These measures also apply to a spouse and any dependants who must also satisfy the criteria set by the RAMQ on eligibility and enrolment.

Canadian citizens coming from other provinces establishing themselves in Quebec

These citizens are presently covered under the plan established by their province of origin. This coverage will continue up until they are covered by the RAMQ plan.

Foreign nationals establishing themselves in Quebec

There are several exceptions that apply to those coming from abroad to reside in Quebec on a temporary or permanent basis. It is therefore preferable to verify with the RAMQ the eligibility conditions for each particular situation. Here are a few general situations for which guiding principles have been established.

In order to become eligible to the RAMQ plan¸ a foreign national who comes to work in Quebec on a temporary basis must have a working visa for a minimum period of six months. In which case¸ the three-month waiting period following enrolment to the RAMQ plan also applies. The same conditions apply to the worker´s spouse and any dependants.

However¸ the residents of the following countries are eligible to the plan¸ and this¸ without being affected by the three-month waiting period due to a reciprocal agreement with the province of Quebec: Denmark¸ Finland¸ France¸ Greece¸ Luxembourg¸ Norway¸ Portugal and Sweden.

In the situation where a person leaves his country of origin to reside in Quebec on a permanent basis¸ the reciprocal agreement between Quebec and the countries outlined above does not apply and the three-month waiting period will be enforced.

The impact on private group insurance plans

As a result of these modifications¸ newcomers arriving from outside the country will be required to pay for medical services or otherwise purchase private health insurance during the three-month waiting period. A company who intends to repatriate or to hire a person from outside the province of Quebec must pay particular attention to its group insurance plan. Indeed¸ the majority of group insurance plans in Canada are designed to provide coverage over and above that of the RAMQ plan or any other provincial plan. Consequently¸ an agreement could be reached with an insurer to provide¸ during the waiting period¸ the services normally covered by the RAMQ. Coverage could include expenses for the services of a medical doctor¸ surgical expenses and hospitalisation fees for a public room. Moreover¸ it is possible to cover these cases with certain individual insurance products available on the market.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Admissibilité et inscription au régime d'assurance maladie du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 4 N. 10, août 2001

La Régie de l´assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) a modifié ses critères d´admissibilité et d´inscription au régime d´assurance maladie et hospitalisation. En effet¸ depuis le 31 mai 2001¸ une période d´attente pouvant aller jusqu´à trois mois suivant l´inscription au régime est nécessaire aux citoyens canadiens des autres provinces et aux ressortissants étrangers venant s´établir ou séjourner au Québec avant d´être couverts par le régime. Cette mesure s´applique également au conjoint et à toute personne à charge qui doivent eux aussi satisfaire aux critères d´admissibilité de la RAMQ et effectuer leur inscription auprès de celle-ci.

Citoyens canadiens provenant d´autres provinces venant s´établir au Québec

Ces derniers disposent déjà d´une couverture auprès du régime de leur province d´origine jusqu´à ce qu´ils soient couverts par la RAMQ.

Ressortissants étrangers venant s´établir au Québec

Plusieurs cas d´exception s´appliquent aux personnes résidant à l´étranger venant s´établir au Québec sur une base temporaire ou permanente. Il est donc préférable de valider auprès de la RAMQ les conditions d´admissibilité propres à chaque situation. Voici toutefois quelques cas généraux pour lesquels des principes directeurs sont établis.

Pour qu´un ressortissant étranger venant travailler au Québec sur une base temporaire soit admissible au régime de la RAMQ¸ son permis de travail dans la province doit être d´une durée minimale de six mois. Dans ce cas¸ il sera également soumis à la période d´attende de trois mois qui débute dès son inscription à la RAMQ. Il est à noter que les mêmes conditions de résidence et de période d´attente s´appliquent au conjoint et aux personnes à charge de ce travailleur.

Toutefois¸ les résidents des pays suivants sont admissibles au régime de la RAMQ et ce¸ sans avoir à se soumettre à la période d´attente de trois mois puisqu´une entente de réciprocité a été conclue avec le Québec : le Danemark¸ la Finlande¸ la France¸ la Grèce¸ le Luxembourg¸ la Norvège¸ le Portugal et la Suède.

Dans la situation où une personne quitte son pays d´origine pour venir s´établir au Québec sur une base permanente¸ l´entente de réciprocité entre le Québec et les pays ci-haut énumérés ne tient plus pour cette personne et la période d´attente s´applique.

Impact sur les régimes privés d´assurance collective

Ces modifications font en sorte que¸ pendant la période d´attente¸ les nouveaux arrivants provenant de l´étranger devront payer pour les services de santé ou encore se procurer de l´assurance privée. Une entreprise prévoyant rapatrier ou embaucher une personne provenant de l´extérieur du Québec devrait apporter une attention spéciale à son régime d´assurance collective. En effet¸ la majorité des régimes d´assurance collective au Canada sont conçus de façon à suppléer celui de la RAMQ ou celui d´un autre régime provincial. Par conséquent¸ des dispositions pourraient être prises avec un assureur afin que celui-ci accepte de couvrir¸ pendant la période d´attente¸ les soins normalement couverts par la RAMQ. Ceci inclut¸ entre autres¸ les frais de consultation auprès d´un médecin¸ les frais de chirurgie ou les frais d´hospitalisation en chambre commune. De plus¸ il est possible de couvrir ces cas avec certains produits d´assurance qui sont disponibles sur le marché sur base individuelle.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6