Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Financial market performances in the year 2000

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N, 1, January 2001

With the beginning of the new year¸ it is appropriate to take an in-depth look at the financial market performances regarding the assets held by pension funds. The summary below shows the return for the year 2000 of each of the major asset classes.


Summary of the returns for the year 2000


     Return Benchmark
Canadian Bonds     10.2% Scotia Capital Universe
Canadian Equities     7.4% TSE300
U.S. Equities     -5.5% S&P500 in Canadian dollars
International Equities     -10.6% EAFE in Canadian dollars

 According to an investment policy with 45% in bonds¸ 30% in Canadian equities and 25% in foreign equities¸ the benchmark portfolio would have obtained a 4.8% return for the year 2000.  


Canadian bonds is the asset class that best performed in the year 2000 with a return for the Scotia Capital Universe Bond index (SCU) of 10.2%. This excellent performance is due to the 13.0% return on long term bonds during the year 2000.

The TSE300 index of the Canadian stocks has generated a return of 7.4% for the year 2000. After the first two quarters¸ this index had already earned 21.9% which was mainly caused by Nortel Networks. However¸ the high-tech stocks sustained a correction of 15% in the fourth quarter which at the same time affected the performance of the TSE300. For a second year in a row¸ the index surpassed the S&P500 and the EAFE. The impact of Nortel Networks was still significant in 2000 as shown in the following table.


 Nortel Networks

 

 


 As at 03/31/12/2000As at 06/30/2000As at 09/30/2000As at 12/31/2000
Weight in the TSE30019.46%32.34%28.09%18.04%
Quarterly return24.86%12.80%-12.03%-46.59%
Stock price$91&.05 *$102.70$90.35$48.25

 * The price is already converted according to the stock split two for one on May 3rd¸ 2000. On this basis¸ the stock price was $72.92 on December 31st¸ 1999. The total return for Nortel in 2000 was -33.83%. 


 

The table shows the severe correction of Nortel Networks stock price during the fourth quarter. In fact¸ during this period¸ Nortel Networks lost almost 50% of its total market value to close the year at $48.25¸ far from its high of $123.10 reached on July 26th¸ 2000. 

The impact of Nortel has led to the creation of the S&P TSE300 capped index to limit the weight of a given stock at 10% in the TSE300 index. The poor performance of Nortel Networks in 2000¸ combined to its weight limitation pushed up the performance of the S&P TSE300 capped index to 19.0% for the year 2000. The benchmark portfolio of the preceding example would have obtained a return of 8.3% with the S&P TSE300 capped index compared to 4.8% in the year 2000. 

The S&P500 index has generated a return of -9.1% in U.S. dollars and -5.5% in Canadian dollars. This poor performance is due to the technology sector which had a negative return of 40%. This sector represents about 25% of the index. 

The international equities suffered in 2000 as shown by the poor performance of the EAFE index of -10.6%. This performance has been influenced by the negative returns of the stock markets in Japan (-26%) and in the United Kingdom (-11%)¸ which represent more than 40% of the market value of the EAFE index. 

Foreign content limit 

Please note that Bill C-32 adopted on June 29th¸ 2000 increases the foreign content limit to 30% of acquisition cost of pension plan assets¸ effective January 1st¸ 2001. It may be appropriate to review the investment policy of your pension plan¸ if you have not done so¸ to benefit from this modification which allows a greater diversification of assets and a higher expected return over a long term perspective. 

2000 annual review of investment managers in Quebec

Our 2000 annual review of investment managers in Quebec will take place on February 22nd¸ 2001. During this presentation¸ we will review the year 2000 with an emphasis on the performance of the financial markets and investment managers in Quebec. We will also address various factors that impact the management of pension plan assets. A formal invitation will follow shortly. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les rendements des marchés financiers en 2000

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 4 N. 1, janvier 2001

Suite à une année fertile en rebondissements concernant les rendements des marchés financiers, il est temps, en ce début d’année, de faire le point sur le rendement des actifs détenus par les caisses de retraite. Le sommaire suivant montre le rendement en 2000 de chacune des principales catégories d’actifs.


Sommaire des rendements en 2000 

 

Rendement

Indice de référence

Obligations canadiennes

10,2 %

Marché des Capitaux Scotia Univers

Actions canadiennes

7,4 %

TSE300

Actions américaines

-5,5 %

S&P500 en dollars canadiens

Actions internationales

-10,6 %

E.A.E.O. en dollars canadiens

Selon une politique de placement avec 45 % en obligations, 30 % en actions canadiennes et 25 % en actions étrangères, le portefeuille de référence aurait obtenu un rendement de 4,8 % en 2000. 


Les obligations canadiennes ont été la catégorie d’actifs la plus performante au cours de l’année 2000 avec un rendement de l’indice Marché des Capitaux Scotia Univers (MCSU) de 10,2 %. Cette excellente performance est attribuable principalement aux obligations à long terme qui ont procuré un rendement de 13,0 % au cours de l’année 2000.

L’indice TSE300 des actions canadiennes a procuré un rendement de 7,4 % en 2000. Après les deux premiers trimestres, ce même indice avait déjà gagné 21,9 %, principalement dû à la poussée de Nortel Networks. Cependant, les titres technologiques ont subi une correction de l’ordre de 15 % au quatrième trimestre, venant du même coup assombrir la performance du TSE300. L’indice a tout de même surpassé, pour une deuxième année consécutive, l’indice des actions américaines, le S&P500 et l’indice baromètre des actions internationales, le E.A.E.O. L’effet Nortel demeure indéniable encore en l’an 2000 comme le démontre le tableau suivant.


Nortel Networks  

 

Au 31/03/2000

Au 30/06/2000

Au 30/09/2000

Au 31/12/2000

Pondération dans le TSE300

19,46 %

32,34 %

28,09 %

18,04 %

Rendement trimestriel

24,86 %

12,80 %

-12,03 %

-46,59 %

Prix de l’action

91,05 $*

102,70 $

90,35 $

48,25 $

 * Le prix est déjà converti selon la division deux pour un de l’action le 3 mai 2000. Sur cette base, le prix
  de l’action était de 72,92 $ au 31 décembre 1999. Le rendement de Nortel en 2000 est de –33,83 %. 


Le tableau montre la sévère correction qu’a subie l’action de Nortel Networks au cours du quatrième trimestre. En fait, durant cette période, l’action de Nortel Networks a perdu près de 50 % de sa valeur boursière pour terminer l’année à 48,25 $, loin en dessous de son sommet de 123,10 $ atteint le 26 juillet 2000.

L’effet Nortel a également conduit à la création d’un indice S&P TSE300 plafonné afin de limiter le poids d’un seul titre à 10 % dans l’indice TSE300. La mauvaise performance de Nortel Networks en 2000 combinée au plafonnement du titre sont venus propulser le rendement du S&P TSE300 plafonné à 19,0 % pour l’année 2000. Le portefeuille de référence de l’exemple précédent aurait obtenu un rendement de 8,3 % avec l’indice S&P TSE300 plafonné au lieu de 4,8 % en 2000.

L’indice S&P500 a procuré un rendement de -9,1 % en dollars américains et -5,5 % en dollars canadiens. Cette sous performance est attribuable principalement au secteur des technologies qui a chuté de 40 % et qui représente près de 25 % de l’indice.

Les actions internationales ont souffert au cours de l’année 2000 comme l’indique le rendement décevant de l’indice E.A.E.O. de -10,6 % converti en dollars canadiens. Le rendement de cet indice a fortement été influencé par la baisse des marchés boursiers au Japon (-26 %) et au Royaume-Uni (-11 %), qui représentent plus de 40 % de la valeur boursière de cet indice.

Limite en placements étrangers

Veuillez noter que suite au dépôt du budget fédéral du 28 février 2000, le projet de loi C-32 adopté le 29 juin 2000 vient relever le plafond de contenu étranger à compter du 1er janvier 2001 à 30 % de la valeur au coût des actifs. Il serait donc pertinent d’analyser la possibilité de réviser la politique de placement de votre caisse de retraite, si ce n’est déjà fait, pour bénéficier de cette mesure qui permet une plus grande diversification des actifs de votre caisse de retraite tout en tenant compte des meilleures perspectives de rendement à long terme.

Revue annuelle 2000 des gestionnaires de placement au Québec

Enfin, nous profitons de l’occasion pour vous informer que le 22 février 2001 se tiendra notre Revue annuelle des gestionnaires de placement au Québec. Cette revue permet de faire un retour sur l’année 2000 et de mettre en lumière la performance des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels ayant une place d’affaires au Québec ainsi que sur les divers enjeux qui touchent la gestion des caisses de retraite. Une invitation formelle suivra sous peu à cet effet.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6